Renovations

We’re halfway through a renovation in our laundry room. It’s a fucking nightmare of a mess. My husband is doing an incredibly great job and I am being very patient.

I want my house back! It’ll be done before we know it. I’ve been tremendously helpful. I’ve done a few random renovation-related errands, but mostly my husband and our awesome friend B have done most of the work.

Okay, really, I haven’t been overly helpful, it’s not my area of expertise. I’ve done my best to stay out of the way, and keep the kids entertained. I am ever thankful to my husband and B for putting in hours of labour and for having the skills to pull off this project. 

In the end, it’ll be worth the wait. After 9 years of tripping over our shoes by the front door, we’ll have a hall closet at our entryway. We’ll have a stand up freezer, so I won’t have to go outside to the shed and duck under the bicycles hanging from the ceiling and dig around in the dark looking for something to eat for dinner. We’ll have cabinets. With doors. To hide all our junk. Not the shelves that were spilling with random laundry room/dumping ground objects. It will be beautiful.

In the meantime, the random junk from the shelves seems to be scattered all over the house. And construction materials. And drywall dust. But soon, oh, so soon, it will all have a nice new home. Except the drywall dust. It must go.

Read my next quick post about the random treasure we found in the wall we knocked down…

About i wonder what she's thinking

I'm a smart ass. Most of my smart ass comments are internal dialogue, but approaching my 30's, I'm feeling a need to unload so I can rescue my mommy brain from being buried in the mess of crazy thoughts.

Posted on November 2, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

